Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 26 Likes Search this Thread
09-02-2019, 07:24 PM - 4 Likes   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Trying to revive an Olympus OM-1

Hello,

A fellow co-worker asked me for help to choose her next camera and we talked for weeks on the subject. Learning that I collect older cameras she told me "I think I have an old camera from my brother's youth". A few days later she brought me this:
An Olympus OM-1 with a Mitakon 28mm f2.8 lens. The OM-1 is from the early 70's. I think it was launched in 1972. It was very highly regarded at its time and it is still popular among film users.
This particular one is a later Motor Drive or MD model launched in 1974 according to my quick internet search. It has provisions to attach an external motor drive thru the bottom plate.

So this will be a follow along as I'll try to revive it. I am by no means an expert. Just a Pentax biased enthusiast with a bad habit of taking things apart.

So this is how it got here:

The self timer lever fell off while tinkering with it. The shutter doesn't always complete the cycle. The lens is dirty and the aperture blades are not working properly. It will have to be taken apart for servicing, but that will be another time. Found and downloaded a service manual online.

It has definitely seen better days.

So here we go. I'm studying how the shutter release and advancing work and I think it is just a matter of lubrication. A very small drop of light machine oil and it seems it started to improve.

Stay tuned as this will be a fun one.

Thanks,

09-02-2019, 07:39 PM   #2
Pentaxian

fun! following along
good luck!
09-02-2019, 10:38 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I have one of these with a broken meter (a common problem apparently). Batteries are awkward enough to find so I'm not too bothered about it. Compared to an MX it doesn't feel as well built or as smooth in operation but that might just be my example.