Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-05-2022, 04:06 AM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Albums
Sony's overly complicated SD card setup

Hi all, was reading through general photo topics when I encountered this reddit topic:

Well. my worst nightmare has just happened at a wedding. I changed the battery on my Sony A9 and when I turned it back on it said something about rebuilding database and all photos have gone from both SD cards. What do I do? : WeddingPhotography

Now I'm no pro shooter but I own a ZV-1 and already had it "rebuild database" on me once.. The SD card is a mix of a bunch of folders, metadata in xml, and even some sort of database binary files.

As an IT person I can't just understand why Sony made such a complex storage setup, with some sort of relational data dependencies that break ALL stored data if only one write attempt is missed. Especially on an SD card which is known to be flaky.

Oh, Sony!!!

05-05-2022, 04:34 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pimpim Quote
Hi all, was reading through general photo topics when I encountered this reddit topic:

Well. my worst nightmare has just happened at a wedding. I changed the battery on my Sony A9 and when I turned it back on it said something about rebuilding database and all photos have gone from both SD cards. What do I do? : WeddingPhotography

Now I'm no pro shooter but I own a ZV-1 and already had it "rebuild database" on me once.. The SD card is a mix of a bunch of folders, metadata in xml, and even some sort of database binary files.

As an IT person I can't just understand why Sony made such a complex storage setup, with some sort of relational data dependencies that break ALL stored data if only one write attempt is missed. Especially on an SD card which is known to be flaky.

Oh, Sony!!!