Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2010, 07:21 AM   #1
Pentaxian

System swap: Pentax K (K-5) or Panasonic u4/3 (GH2)

I realise the inevitable bias that people here will have, but I'm stumped and am going to ask anyway. So please try and be objective

At the moment I shoot Olympus 4/3 (classic, not Micro). I have an E-3 body, and the Zuiko Digital 8mm Fisheye, 12-60/f2.8-4 SWD and 50-200/f2.8-3.5 SWD. My gear gets a lot or use (I've shot around 30,000 images with this body in the last 12 months) but I'm not a pro and have no real aspirations to be one. I shoot for myself to capture and share the places I've been and things I've seen

I'm quite happy with the E-3, and would happily upgrade to the E-5 to improve a few E-3 issues (noise, resolution and LCD being the main ones). However, I'm unconvinced that Olympus still has any interest or commitment to the classic 4/3rds mount, and as such I'm switching systems (again...).

I don't have any specific area of photographic interest, and shoot basically whatever I see. My main subjects would probably be:

Landscape
Street/Urban
Architecture
Travel
Surfing

I'm an Architecture Masters student and have a keen interest in documenting urban space. I'm also quite keen to progress into video for this, as well as stills.

Here's my flickr stream to give you an idea of my shooting interests and style.

At the moment I'm considering two systems...

Firstly, Pentax K with the following:

Pentax K-5
Pentax DA 12-24/f4
Pentax DA* 16-50/f2.8
Pentax DA* 50-135/f2.8
Pentax DA* 300/f4
Total Cost (B&H) - $4989USD

And Panasonic u4/3:

Panasonic GH2
Panasonic 7-14/f4
Panasonic 20/f1.7
Panasonic 45/f2.8 Macro
Panasonic 14-140/f4-5.8
Panasonic 100-300/f4-5.6
Total cost (B&H) - $4228USD

**If I get the GH2 kit I will probably keep my 8mm FE and buy a 4/3 adapter**