Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-09-2011, 11:53 AM   #1
Forum Member

Question about DSLR focus/viewfinders/mirrors

I would like to ask about which DSLR, Pentax but also other brands, gives a viewfinder experience the most similar to a Spotmatic.

I have no experience at all in DSLRs, as i have never owned / used one, owning only a Olympus E-P1 and a Spotmatic F.
But since I'm in LOVE with the viewfinder of the Spotmatic, what with its easy use, its style in regard of the metering, but mostly in the clarity of the center area focus, mostly when coupled with a good lens (and I'm happy with the Takumars), I wanted to ask which is the most similar counterpart in the DSLR world.

The only other focus through viewfinder camera I have tried is one from Nikon, a 35mm SLR, prolly an F, with a divided center area, a "foggy" circle around it and three red leds for the metering, and I did not liked it a bit.

I'm saving with the purpose of buying a DSLR in the future, (and i'm attracted to the K-r), but I would really like to know the options there.

So, is there a great optical viewfinder with manual focusing in mind for DSLR users?

02-09-2011, 09:41 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are two current viewfinders in Pentax cameras, a Penta-mirror and a Penta-prism. The prism is defintely the brighter of the two, and the closest to the classic finders. I have a K10d, and replaced the stock "bright" screen with an LL-60 from the *ist series which gives me the grainier look of the classic finder, and I find it easier to focus with this screen. It also resolved the metering problems I was having with my two M series lenses (no A setting on the aperture ring).