Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-10-2011, 09:15 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
My Last Pentax Wedding... For now.

This is the last wedding I shot with my Pentax k-x and k20d. I miss the small perfectly designed economical body and beautiful primes. However I love the exra DOF I get out of my 5D Mark II. Whenever Pentax goes FF perhaps I can make the jump back.

In Memory of my k-x and k20d

Sometimes my Sigma 30 1.4 surprised me

Again

And again...

50-135 Things you could do for under $1000

43 1.9 you are the reason I will one day return.

03-10-2011, 10:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I have been shooting with my Canon 5D (classic) and the 85L for many years now. I find that the shallow DOF is not as much of an issue as some people make it out to be. At f/1.2 the 85L is very tricky to master and the slightest movement from the subject ruins the shot. In a studio with a tripod there are a lot of cool things you can do with that narrow DOF, but at an event with people moving around and kids playing there will be a lot of missed shots because the DOF was too narrow.
03-11-2011, 06:34 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by montman Quote
I love the exra DOF I get out of my 5D Mark II
Don't you mean the exact opposite of what you have said - the LESS (narrower) DOF you get out of FF, viz:
Depth of Field Table
Understanding Depth of Field in Photography
03-11-2011, 09:06 AM   #4
Forum Member

nice shots!

03-11-2011, 10:28 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Winder- I agree shooting moving subjects with the 85 1.2 on a FF you are going to get lots of out of focus shots. The difference seems pretty huge to me. I feel like when I am shooting at 2.8 on a FF it’s like shooting F2 on a cropped body. But I totally see where you are coming from.
Rawr- It depends if you are looking from the inside or the outside.
Azimuthal- Thanks!
03-11-2011, 01:39 PM   #6
Veteran Member