Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2012, 10:44 AM   #46
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by audiobomber Quote
Any comment on IQ of K-5 vs D7000? I hear the AA filter is lighter so D7000 files are a bit sharper. Colour and contrast are more important to me, and I suspect Pentax should win there. From what I've seen, Nikon white balance tends to go a little too yellow, and Pentax lenses may have better coatings (better contrast, flare resistance)? I'm not saying I'm right, these are just my impressions.
The D7000 was/is a great camera. The reason we bought it, is within this thread.
The K5 has been amazing and as a new photographer, my husband looked to me and my images and my workflow. As a Pentaxian, I made the Nikon look bad. (Sorry Nikonians)

I think in the end it was the video that was the dealbreaker and the weirdness of "Nikon" in relation to Pentax which was subjective. Everyone is different.

My verdict is the D7000 is a great camera, but if we ever go back down the Nikon road it will be FF.

04-10-2012, 02:12 PM   #47
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by LaurenOE Quote
My verdict is the D7000 is a great camera, but if we ever go back down the Nikon road it will be FF.
This was my own conclusion having owned a D7000 at one time. I'm currently very happy with a K-5, but continually desire full frame. So what's your husband transitioning to now if anything?
04-10-2012, 03:03 PM   #48
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by einstrigger Quote
This was my own conclusion having owned a D7000 at one time. I'm currently very happy with a K-5, but continually desire full frame. So what's your husband transitioning to now if anything?
He's become the "Sound Guy". Basically he's into all the sound that we need when we are out and about shooting. I can't do everything Pics/Video, so I'm sorta selfishly glad.