Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-01-2011, 11:39 AM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I bought the Nikon J1 (Pink Special Edition)

Even the box is pink:

With two smaller pink boxes inside the outer box:

Larger box contains the body, two lenses, battery, adapter, and pink neck strap:

Smaller one contains the special edition accessories (pink wrapping cloth, pink carrying strap, pink lens hood):

The camera body and two lenses:

With the wrapping cloth, it's a nice pink package:

I'm not very good at wrapping yet, but I am improving slowly - it's very Japanese:

The J1 compared to the Sony DSC-HX7v compact - it's slightly bigger not including the lens. It's also slightly bigger compared to the Q, which is around the same size as the HX7v:

The J1 compared to the NEX-5N - the 5N body is almost the same size as the J1, but clearly the J1 lenses are a lot smaller:

My initial impresion - very positive. The camera is extremely well built and feels solid and has a very nice tactile feel to it - reminds me a lot of the Leica M9 but in a smaller package. The camera is a joy to touch and hold.

Not sure about the usability - I need to read the manual but so far the impression I am getting is that it's a point and shoot - very difficult to change any parameters.

Can't wait to go out on the weekend to take some photos.

11-01-2011, 12:20 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
LOL why did I know you'd get the Pink J1 when I saw it

Looking forward to seeing performance on it Christine (shame it's not manual control friendly i was sure before release it would be)
11-01-2011, 02:51 PM   #3
Veteran Member

That's a nice kit. To be tossed in a collectors closet?
11-01-2011, 03:55 PM   #4
K-9
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Quality comparisons I've seen have both new Nikons being beat out by the NEX-5N. Although, I do like the Nikons much better. I wouldn't by a Sony.

11-01-2011, 10:34 PM   #5