Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-22-2011, 01:31 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Nikon D700 or Canon 5D Mk. II?

Even though I have somewhat invested in Pentax, I have a nagging feeling that I'll eventually want to switch to a CaNikon FF camera. Or actually not switch since I'm not good at selling stuff, but rather getting another system on the side. I'm not holding my breath for the (once again surfaced) Pentax FF rumors and fear that even if the mystic FF Pentax should some day materialize, there'd be aspects that I'm not so fond of. But now the cameras in subject header are getting within reason regarding price, so getting one isn't out of the question.

But which one? I have no lenses worth mentioning for either mount. I have some OK M42 lenses, but not enough to base the purchase on. So we're mainly talking about getting just the body and perhaps 2-3 lenses (a Tamron 28-75mm lens is an affordable option for either, perhaps some 30-50mm primes).

Which one would you choose and why? I know some former Pentax users have ended up getting a Sony FF camera due to more possibility of using M42 glass, but after Pentax I'd probably want a camera by the bigger players (in this field). I have seen members like jsherman produce some really magic stuff with their D700s, but it's more about the photographer than of the camera.

12-22-2011, 01:40 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Personally If I were to jump ship it would be for Nikon. I find their ergonomics better for my tastes (still not as good as the k7/5 but WTH) unfortunately with the Nikon your M42's will either lose infinity focus or have another piece of glass behind them. the loss of infinity isn't always bad though. The plus is there is tons of old Nikon glass out there you can use with your D700 and much of it is excellent.