Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-09-2013, 10:43 AM   #1

Super Takumar 1:3.5/135 lens dof

ok so i just got the super takumar 1:3.5/135 lens and i am confused as i see other people using it for filming and close up photographs but when i take pictures with it, it only does really shallow dof macro shots. I know its an incredible lens and i just think im not using it right i am kind of new to the whole photography thing but i do know my stuff... please help. oh btw i use a Canon 500D ive attached some pictures to show you the shallowness.

Attached Images

04-09-2013, 11:30 AM   #2
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Guess we need to start with a basic question. Are you stopping down the lens at all, and are you making use of the A/M switch?
04-09-2013, 11:43 AM   #3

Original Poster
Yup ive tried that sorry i wasnt clear enough is there a way of getting the dof less shallow without decreasing the aperture or is that the only way... is there a way to compensate for the light without having to increase the exposure time

and i have looked at the A/M switch but im puzzled as to what it does
04-09-2013, 12:16 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The only way is it stop down or shoot stuff that's far away.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
04-09-2013, 12:25 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
The only way is it stop down or shoot stuff that's far away.
ok thanx but how do i shoot stuff thats far away becuz it doesnt seem to focus on far away objects
04-09-2013, 12:26 PM   #6