Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 10 Likes Search this Thread
05-01-2013, 07:15 PM   #1
Veteran Member

If you move away from Pentax, which brand will you consider and why?

I am trying to educate myself for the next big jump. I myself tend to consider Canon FF (like the old 5D-II which is getting cheaper even brand new, I think). My friend who owns D800 won't agree with my decision. So what do you guys think, if you have used K5 (or its derivatives) and want to move away from Pentax which brand will you consider?

Edit: As a hobbyist, I am not considering to switch brands any time soon, I am just trying not to be a frog in the well. K5 classic is good enough for me for now. I even bought a used K20D as a second camera. Prior to K5, I used Zenit 122 and Minolta 5xi. Apart from that I owned/used many P&S cameras like Canon G2.

Last edited by TropicalMonkey; 05-24-2013 at 12:52 PM. Reason: readaility
05-01-2013, 07:22 PM   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by TropicalMonkey Quote
I am trying to educate myself for the next big jump. I myself tend to consider Canon FF (like the old 5D-II which is getting cheaper even brand new, I think). My friend who owns D800 won't agree with my decision. So what do you guys think, if you have used K5 (or its derivatives) and want to move away from Pentax which brand will you consider?
If I were to switch, it would be nice to go Canon so I can use all my cool m42 lenses without an optical adapter, but the Canon models are not designed for humans and their policies of intentionally crippling their bodies would make me hate them more than Pentax (should Pentax drive me over the edge). So it would be Nikon -- they've got the best full-frame options...
05-01-2013, 07:28 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by vonBaloney Quote
... their policies of intentionally crippling their bodies ..
I need to do more research!!
05-01-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter