Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-18-2013, 03:43 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I Wasted Some Film Today

Since today was supposed to be nice, I decided that I would get out and try to get some pictures taken. The cameras that I took with me were my Canon EOS Elan IIE and my Pentax K1000SE. At one point when I was walking downtown, I looked towards the river and I noticed that there were some bald eagles flying around so I decided to head towards the riverfront and try to get some shots of them flying around. I got my Elan IIE (with an EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 lens attached) out of my camera bag and I started shooting. Every now and then, the battery icon on the LCD display would flash like the battery was dead (it wasn't dead...just damn cold). I would turn the mode dial on my camera to Lock, leave it there for a few moments, then I would set my camera back to aperture priority mode and continue shooting. I did several times. What I finally realized that every time that I would switch the camera from lock to aperture priority mode, the camera would advance the roll of film to the next exposure (even though the previous exposure prior to me switch the camera back to aperture priority hadn't been used). By the time I realized what was going on, it was too late to do anything about it. If I would have been paying attention to what was going on right away, I believe (I could be wrong) I could have manually rewound the roll of film to the exposures that were not used so that I could use them instead of leaving them unused and therefore wasted. I didn't pay attention to which exposures were essentially skipped. I am kind of pissed about this. I should have just taken my digital camera with me and used that. Not only did I manage to skip exposures, I also wanted to overexpose my shots in order to hopefully ensure that I achieved a proper exposure. I had adjusted what I thought was exposure compensation but when I wa