Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
12-23-2013, 05:58 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Canon SL 1 -- a bad idea?

The SL 1 has been called a marketing gimmick--and, in part, for good reason. It's a crippled, weird ergonomically camera, with an outdated sensor, etc. But the idea of a very small/light DSLR is a very good one, IMHO. Why not such a camera from Pentax? It'd be the perfect travel tool for many.

I'm not at all interested in FF--much too heavy for me. I'm just a hobbyist. But I'd be very much interested in a Pentax equivalent to SL 1. I looked at the NEX: the lack of very good lenses in the E mount and the lack of an OVF turned me off. I looked at micro four thirds system: many great lenses, but, frankly, it didn't seem to me IQ was on par with the IQ of my K-30. (Subjectively, in terms of IQ, Pentax APS-C is closer to FF than m43 is to Pentax APS-C.) Plus, the EM-5--the only camera that in my view can be compared to a DSLR--is not lighter than Canon SL 1.

The SL 1 was selling for $360 a couple of days ago; I was tempted to get one and pair it with Canon's 10-22. But I'm not fond of the idea of having two systems, especially if the second system is Canon, which has practically cosmeticized and re-sold the same camera for years. The SL 1's sensor makes me think of the NEX again So, no... I'm going to wait. Who knows, maybe Pentax will come up with a very light K-x2 or something.

Anyway, I suspect an ultra-light Pentax dslr would have many adherents. Wrong?

Last edited by causey; 12-23-2013 at 06:07 AM.
12-23-2013, 06:06 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Samsung nx20?

Mission solved

20mp, APS, evf. Short flange ao it can use those wonderful m39 mount range finder lenses from yesteryear... Do it
12-23-2013, 06:15 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by tromboads Quote
Samsung nx20?

Mission solved