Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-11-2014, 09:44 PM   #1

Adapter question!

Hi all,

I'm really new to photography in general, and recently acquired an Auto Chinon 1:1.9 50mm lens to snap onto my Nikon D3100 and try to get better at portraits. I'm hunting around for adapters but have seen a few variations (some with lens/glass, some without). I was wondering if I just wanted to take 'nice' portraits, is there a recommended adapter for this? Or would a cheapo (like this) from ebay do?

Additionally, since this is my first prime lens experience- if anyone has any tips or tricks I would like to hear them!

Thank you!

07-11-2014, 10:48 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That adapter will work, but it doesn't allow for infinity focus. You'd have to get the Nikon version of that particular lens.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

07-12-2014, 05:02 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
You'd have to get the Nikon version of that particular lens.
There isn't one. K-mount or M42 only. On a Nikon w/adapter, you won't have metering of any kind.
07-12-2014, 05:24 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Nikon is the worst for adapting other lenses to because of its longer registration distance. canon is the best (of mirrored dslr) - there are adapters for just about anything available.

07-12-2014, 05:52 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A nikon body would not be my choice for adapting lenses.