Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2014, 02:28 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Looking at sony

The a7s is looking kind of intriguing. As someone who is wanting to get into video, being able to select your codec was very cool. And then there was the high bitrate (even though i patched my d600 to 64mbps.) It basically offers a consumer version of the codec used in sony's professional movie cameras like the f55 which is very exciting. But it's a mere 12 megapixels. I don't necessarily need the 36 of the d800 but wow.. so little. I dont see there being a lot of cropping ability.

So naturally i looked at the a7r which offered quite a few more megapixels. The inclusion of focus peaking is nice (as is a live histogram ) but apparently the af isnt going to blow peoples socks off. I don't really do a ton of sports or anything (and to be honest i dont really think im too interested in wildlife photography) but as an artist i like to keep my options open. Who knows what im in the mood for? Photography has always been a very sort of spontaneous, spur of the moment thing for me. xD But like the A7s the video looks awesome. You get a choice of codecs.. AVCHD, which from what i can tell is comparable to prores. But jesus christ, that 36 megapixels! From what ive heard you only need 8 megapixels to print on standard a6 8x10 sooo.. with the a7r you could conceivably crop down to a mere 1/5 of the image and still have enough to print 8x10 at 300 dpi!