Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-08-2017, 07:37 AM   #1

Stick with Pentax or switch?!

Hello!
I am a portrait photographer & currently shoot with a Pentax K-3 II; I started with a Pentax K-r a few years back & have a handful of lenses I use regularly (50mm f/1.8, 28-75mm f/2.8 most frequently). I am at a crossroads now with my camera/lenses & would love some feedback! I am debating on just adding to my lens collection by adding an 85mm & 70-200mm, then more in the future; moving up to the Pentax 645z, or switching to Canon or Nikon, if they have better portrait cameras - I don't plan to do anything in the immediate future, just something I will save to buy. I am looking for the best in portrait cameras with incredibly sharp output & great colors. I am including my website if it helps to get a better idea of what I shoot (www.andryakayphotography.com).

Thank you so much for your feedback!
-Andi

02-08-2017, 08:00 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First consideration- what is your current investment ( list all Pentax specific equipment).

Second consideration: what lens or lenses or accessories do you want/need in the future and are these available in each brand and if so is there a cost delta.

Lastly what if anything is frustrating you about your current gear/brand? How is this addressed by switching.
02-08-2017, 08:31 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
your work is fine
you have to decide what improvement will result from a change

if nothing else rent the gear you want to migrate to
try it and see if it is better for you

I haven't seen a bad camera in long time
though I have used stuff I didn't feel comfortable with
02-08-2017, 08:32 AM   #4
Pentaxian

The FA77 is what you want for portrait work. Add the 55/1.4 or the FA43 for wider work.

I don't think you'll find better at Nikon or Canon.

02-08-2017, 09:54 AM   #5
Pentaxian