Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
03-24-2018, 09:34 AM - 3 Likes   #1

Pentax Takumar 50mm 1.4 Review

Hey guys! So I've been dabbling in vintage lenses for the past 18 months or so and Takumar's have quickly become my favourites. I compared the 100mm Macro F4 to a Modern Canon 100mm F2.8 awhile ago and wanted to do a review on my favourite 50mm lens.

I'm sure you guys know all about this, but I just wanted to share my thoughts on the lens in a video I did here.

Now keep in mind I'm 90% videographer/editor and have always done photography as a hobby so a big part of what I love about these lenses and this one in particular is how it performs when shooting video on my mirrorless camera.

A big part of why i make these videos is to reach a younger market who I see online complaining that they can't afford these fast prime lenses their photographic heroes are using. $1500 for a modern Canon 1.4 24mm vs $50 for a vintage Pentax Tak 50mm 1.4.

Anyway always a pleasure to be part of this like minded community. It's such a fantastic resource and place to share our love for these lenses/cameras.

03-24-2018, 05:58 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
It looks like you shot with the newer 7 element version. The older 8 element version is reportedly much better.
03-24-2018, 06:28 PM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Kozlok Quote
The older 8 element version is reportedly much better.
Rated by users at 0.13 better,not that much numerically...Add the fact that the later 7 element Super/Super Multi Coated/SMC have almost triple the reviewers,i'm not sure that there would be lots of difference.As far as being "much" better,copy variance can influence averages.I'd say both are rated highly.
03-24-2018, 10:34 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Digital Asylum Quote