Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 15 Likes Search this Thread
08-27-2018, 04:29 AM   #61
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
i really have no interest in mirrorless cameras made by anyone i am very happy with my little Pentax system, also even if i wanted to i could never afford to change, all in all none of them take better pictures than my K1 and K7 so it seems a bit fruitless always trying to compare or remark on how fantastic they are for those who like them and can afford a new system go for it, good luck, ian

08-27-2018, 05:33 AM   #62
ddb

Photos: Albums
I am still very new to this hobby. I had a few decent cameras but never used them beyond "green square" mode. Started with Minolta Maxxum 5D then Canon XTI Nikon D700, then Sony Nex 3 and 5n. My last acquisition was A6000 and when the lens adapters became common I discovered the manual mode and adapted old lenses.

My plan was to move up to Sony A7 at some point, but I still hesitate. I will have to haul larger, wider lenses, more focal length, and more light power. I find HSS and TTL useless I use two radio triggered mini flashes on mini tripods or bounce light off the walls when in urban areas. I compensate for a smaller sensor with a shorter focal length to get the same angles than with an FF. lens correction algos are good enough- nobody notices the difference when compressed for web.

Image manipulation software does a good job reducing noise - sharpening algos are getting very smart and I end up uploading stuff to the web at 16bit max where FF advantages make a very little difference anyway. If I can shoot at ISO 6400 or higher and denoise at almost no loss, why to worry about more light and larger sensors?

assuming continuing sensor improvements maybe the question here is: does FF has a future at all?
08-27-2018, 06:09 AM - 2 Likes   #63
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by biz-engineer Quote