Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-08-2019, 05:54 AM   #1

Looking for a camera with fast/reliable auto focus.

I have been using my Pentax K3 for a few years now. Its fine for most things but recently I have been getting into street and street portraits. Unfortunately the AF is just too unreliable in these situations. Even with primes, although they do focus quickly very few shots are actually really in focus. Looking for a camera with reliable AF for around 500 dollars secondhand, including lens if possible. Any ideas?? Thanks.

02-08-2019, 06:18 AM   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
have you looked at the user reviews and " in depth review " of the various Pentax cameras yet ?

you can also use the comparison tool to set up 4 different cameras side by side

Pentax K-1 II vs. Pentax KP vs. Pentax K-70 vs. Pentax K-3 - Pentax Camera Comparison - PentaxForums.com

perhaps you might find some useful info in these articles ?

Guide to Camera and Autofocus Settings for Shooting Sports

Read more at: Guide to Camera and Autofocus Settings for Shooting Sports - Articles and Tips | PentaxForums.com

DSLR Guide for Shooting Sports II: Horse Racing
How to set up autofocus and other DSLR settings

Read more at: DSLR Guide for Shooting Sports II: Horse Racing - Articles and Tips | PentaxForums.com
02-08-2019, 06:24 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks, yes. The KP seems to have the most reliable AF and this is a possibility. However, I have become quite frustrated with my K3 autofocus so I am looking at other brands too. I don't need bells and whistles just something that focuses accurately. I am also considering mirrorless. I have a Ricoh GR which is wonderfully sharp and accurate. I want the same results but at around 50-85mm fov.
02-08-2019, 06:54 AM   #4
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

is it your camera or the lenses ?

check out lenses review