Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-14-2019, 07:01 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Any large format users? Intrepid 4x5 Mk iii

GAS victim here. I've purged most of my Pentax gear to put toward a business venture (unrelated to photography) and recently that trajectory has moved - just about in-line with my luck really. So, I decided that medium format > full frame > APS-C > M43, etc (I know I'm generalizing here). If I go bigger, it'll be better, right?

The price was the primary reason to jump on this particular brand/model. Especially since I have zero experience with large format systems. I just received it literally today...and I feel let down.

I had to chase the (tripod) mounting threads with taps (both 1/4-20 and 3/8-16) as I couldn't get either Manfrotto plates attached at first. Minor issue really, but the initial perception doesn't help.

The 3-D printed pieces seem decent but not faultless (clearly FDM process-made). I can accept that for the low price.

The adjustments are problematic (keeping standards normal/true; doesn't seem to want to stay).

But the biggest concern at the moment is the light leaks between the rotating back and rear standard. That's not a minor thing obviously. Not sure I can cure this...

Z

02-14-2019, 08:31 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Have you done film before? If not, quite the jump to LF, it's a very, very slow way of making photos (but I do enjoy it so.)

I thought about getting one of these - they are incredibly cheap for a LF cameras so some faults are to be expected.

Light leaks - are you seeing them in your prints?
02-15-2019, 06:32 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Yes. 35mm, 6x4.5, 6x7 and 6x9. For maybe 10 years aside form a 110 camera when I was a kid. So no issues with film.