Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-17-2009, 12:12 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Well, I've made the switch.....

I'm just about done with the move to Canon.

I really hate agonizing over equipment, especially I have no experience with Canon at all.

I'm picking up a 5D body tomorrow in the city and will grab a second 5D when I sell my remaining K20D. I'm actually about to take the last few pics with the last of the Pentax lenses.....the FA50/1.4 that will be leaving me tomorrow.

Switching systems definitely leaves me with an unsettled feeling. It's like driving around blind curve and not knowing what's on the other side. Kinda scary, especially since I knew my Pentax stuff like the back of my hand. Trying to figure out which lenses I was going to buy initially was hard. Trying to figure out which combination of bodies to get was also a PITA. Going through the process of learning to new stuff will be nerve-wracking I'm sure.

Anyway, here's what I settled on:

5D
5D
Sigma 24-60/2.8
Sigma 28/1.8
Canon 50/1.4
Canon 85/1.8
Canon 200/2.8L

I guess that'll be a good start, as long as the Sigmas don't have any focus issues. At some point I'll probably swap in a 24-70L + 24L or 35L to replace the Sigmas, and add a 135L. The more pressing need is a macro of some sort. I'm leaning more towards grabbing some macro tubes and adding a true macro later on.

Anyway, ready or not, here I go...

09-17-2009, 12:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

best of luck man.
09-17-2009, 12:25 PM   #3
Veteran Member

My one recommendation for this setup: get a hood for the 50 and ALWAYS leave it on. That lens has one weak point and it's that pressure on the front element can bugger up the autofocus mechanism. If you use a hood you'll never need to worry about it. If you don't have one I got one for something like $9 shipped from HK supplies.

Other than that, welcome to the dark side.
09-17-2009, 12:34 PM   #4

Photos: Albums