Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-19-2010, 01:18 AM   #1

Canon ef macro - fd bellows

Hi, my name is Eric and I am new to this site. From the onset, I apologise for the longwindedness of this communication but I am new to this form of communicating (Threads/Forums).
I do have a Pentax Optio 550 point and shoot which was my introduction to digital photography however, I must confess I am currently using a Canon EOS 400d. I have a number of lenses for this camera including a 100mm macro, and whilst noting some of the criticism on this site of the 7D, I plan to upgrade to this model sometime in the future. I plan to focus (no pun intended ... I am sure it has been said before) on macro photography. I came about this site by accident when researching some FD to EF adapters for a Canon FD bellows (slide copier). I know that a female adapter is available but is it possible to get a male for the other end - ftting my lens to the bellows. I am aware of the MP-E 65mm lens however the bellows appears to be a lovely piece of cradftmanship and I am loathe to dispose of it without attempting to use it in someway. Can you advise me. If responding please advise in laymans terms as I am not the most technical of individuals.
Thanks

02-19-2010, 05:58 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Your FD bellows isn't made to use Eos lenses on it

Your FD bellows isn't made to use Eos lenses on it.

I've never seen a FD body to eos lens mount adapter.

If it existed you could not control aperture on eos lens.

My FD Autobellows allows me to use other lenses, via numerous adapters I've located over the years.

Its true you can locate a Eos to FD adapter to mount your Rebel or future 7D to the Fd bellows but you cannot use your eos lenses on it.