Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

View Poll Results: Assuming same size sensor, does 24mp or 10mp result in better photography?
Strongly Agree 619.35%
Generally Agree 825.81%
Neutral 825.81%
Generally Disagree 516.13%
Strongly Disagree 412.90%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-10-2012, 12:03 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
MegaPixel war still on-going for DSLR's

See the new Nikon D3200 - New Nikon D3200 entry-level DSLR continues megapixel war « Fuzzybokeh.com. It seems to have a regular viewfinder, too.

But does it matter? If it does, then to whom? Will the new entry-level Pentax be similar to the K-01 (16mp) but better in image/signal processing (such as noise characteristics)? Will other manufacturers follow Nikon's lead?

Certainly, 10mp is enough to do most any kind of photography. But people decide to upgrade for various reasons. I am still learning about photography and its art but does a 24mp camera make it easier or harder to learn how to be more artistic with photography, compared to 10mp???

PS,
I screwed up the question to the poll. It should say "24mp compared to 10mp", not "24mp or 10mp". How does one fix a poll question???

Last edited by goldenarrow; 05-10-2012 at 12:16 PM. Reason: messed up poll question
05-10-2012, 12:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by goldenarrow Quote
See the new Nikon D3200 - New Nikon D3200 entry-level DSLR continues megapixel war « Fuzzybokeh.com. It seems to have a regular viewfinder, too.

But does it matter? If it does, then to whom? Will the new entry-level Pentax be similar to the K-01 (16mp) but better in image/signal processing (such as noise characteristics)? Will other manufacturers follow Nikon's lead?