Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-31-2020, 06:09 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Minolta X500 Headaches...

Yes, yes I know its a Pentax forum and I am in a few Minolta groups to express my love of Minoltas ( Just like I am in some Nikon Groups to blab on about the wonderful world of Nikon ) but I am having a mare of a time with an X500 and as I know there are some heavy hitters on camera repair round these parts I thought I may as well ask here as well as on some other groups.

I have been working on an X500 that was in poor shape, mostly cosmetic but a few other issues too. All seemed to be fine and she film tested ok. I have been using her on and off for a few months and she always had a small niggle. On shutter release she had a tiny stall, just fractions of a second but she was noticeably slower off the mark than her twin sister. This stutter is very very very tiny and about the delay an XD or X700 has due to their final check metering. I had put this down to probably a small difference in the mirror dampening springs or just variance in the assembly when she was manufactured.

BUT....yesterday I loaded a film and she stalled entirely. Mirror started to rise and then just stopped and she locked up completely. Unloaded the film and voila she works again but this was just a coincidence.

Examination and testing has shown up a fault...

Symptoms are always the same, the mirror starts to rise, lens stop down has not started and bang ! She just stops. The lightest touch on the mirror or the aperture stop down actuator will let her complete the cycle and the camera works fine when laying on its back, side, upside down or any position other than a standard landscape orientation.