Original Poster
welcome back!

10-21-2009, 04:40 PM   #62
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by unkabin Quote
But what's wrong with comparing experiences with different systems? I don't see the problem here. Am I bitching? I don't think so. You sure are. I just joined a conversation to talk about flash experiences between brands.

But your own statement speaks volumes. "P-TTL can do the job if you want to work with it." And you say you don't.

And what do you mean "Doesn't count"? I can't speak unless I'm a full-time professional? Wow. I'm not a professional. I've been shooting for twenty years, though, learned on a fully manual camera.

I don't know why you're so defensive. Anyway, I'm not here to fight, and I don't feel I'm disparaging Pentax. I like Pentax. I'd like them even better if they had a more consistent ttl flash system. One user's (non professional, though it may be) experience.
Just because one doesn't use P-TTL doesn't mean P-TTL doesn't work (wow, 3 doesn'ts in one sentence...)

Peter doesn't need to defend his stance - he speaks from experience, doing the business full time. One can claim he/she knows it all after using gear for 20 years but it still won't compare to someone in the industry speaking about it.

It's OK to want a 'better' system too - no doubt Pentax wants that for its customers as well. But I reiterate that pointing and shooting is no test for a camera or flash.

Last edited by Ash; 10-21-2009 at 07:46 PM. Reason: typo
10-21-2009, 04:58 PM   #63
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by alexeyga Quote

That said, let me re-phrase what i've said, and that is my-own personal experience and opinion:
  • -most of the time with a flash, a lens of a "standard" FL needs to be stopped down to f/5.6-f/11 TRUE OR NOT? True for me at least...