Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2010, 03:06 AM   #1

ask something..

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

hello..
i'm a newbie here, in this forum
i'm a SP user..
here.. its my slr..

it is hard to find the battery in this era
so, i was thinking that im gonna pick this clip on light meter for my SP

but the problem is..
its says that this meter is for H3 or the H3v
is this meter will compatible for my SP?
thanks before..

05-12-2010, 06:20 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The meter couples to the speed dial on the H3/H3v. I don't know if the dimensions would be the same on a spotmatic. You'd probably need to use this meter as a manual hand meter, and there's likely to be better, cheaper hand meters for you to use than this.

If you search here or on the net for spotmatic battery you'll see there are many alternatives for feeding the camera, including hearing aid batteries etc with an O ring to make it fit, as well as there being modern 1.5 v batteries that work.

Nice pic of the camera by the way.
05-12-2010, 06:35 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Why not just pick up a used handheld lightmeter? I expect they are pretty cheap these days.
05-12-2010, 06:48 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
check here

did a search on camera batteries

Photoethnography.com - Classic Cameras

05-12-2010, 08:52 AM   #5
Veteran Member

I've been using 1.5V alkalines in my Spotmatics for a long time, and they work just fine.

If you do need a handheld meter, picking up a GE PR-1 in working order is my reccomendation.

But do be careful, as if you ever do anything with extension tubes or bellows, the math you need to apply for proper metering gets tricky. TTL is definitely the way to go.