Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-16-2010, 09:15 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Cheapest, easiest bulk scanning of thousands of family shots

I have been working against the tide to scan in all my worthwhile legacy prints, mostly 4x6 and 4x4, for the family archives. The important ones I will do one at a time but 99% of the rest may never be printed again but I still want to get digital copies. I was unable to find any adequate consumer priced batch scanners for sale or bigger ones for rent

The service firms I researched [BritePix.com for example] offer the 600dpi I want for the bulk work and free enhancements (scratch, dust, fade, etc.) for 29 to 50 cents per. I have no experience with any of them and am looking for recommendations; either a batch scanner to buy/rent or a service firm you have good experience with. I have thousands of shots including those found in the parents attic from 100 years ago (I do those one at a time of course). No negatives or slides to be scanned this time.

Suggestions? I KNOW that many have had to blaze this trail before me.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by imtheguy; 05-16-2010 at 11:16 PM.
05-17-2010, 07:44 AM - 1 Like   #2

Photos: Gallery
Scan Cafe

I had a good experience with Scan Cafe a few years ago. Everything was scanned and originals returned as promised.
05-17-2010, 01:51 PM - 1 Like   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by imtheguy Quote
I have been working against the tide to scan in all my worthwhile legacy prints, mostly 4x6 and 4x4, for the family archives. The important ones I will do one at a time but 99% of the rest may never be printed again but I still want to get digital copies. I was unable to find any adequate consumer priced batch scanners for sale or bigger ones for rent