Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-05-2010, 03:27 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
How to Clean My k1000

Hi All ,

Please help the uninitiated !!!.. I am a proud owner of Asahi Pentax K1000 that my dad gave to me .. Have clicked few rolls as well .. But i realoise that it needs some cleaning badly !!!..

Can anyone guide me how i can go about doing the same .. or guide me to the thread... Also being very new to photography ..Can you please suggest me how i could have enhanced the below Pics.. Name:  Shanky.jpg
Views: 5916
Size:  128.1 KB

Name:  ER14002bw_edited-1.jpg
Views: 6103
Size:  135.5 KB

10-05-2010, 05:14 AM   #2
Forum Member

Hi K-Arnav! Unfortunately I'm not a pro, I'm not even an amateur so I can't evaluate your photos. On the other hand you might be interested with these:
Cleaning Cameras - photo.net
How to Clean a 35mm Film Camera and Lens: 12 steps (with video) - wikiHow
That's not much, but I hope you'll find it useful.
10-05-2010, 05:49 AM   #3

Original Poster
Hey Thanks Micheil .. Appreciate!!!
10-05-2010, 07:53 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I really like that second one. It's not looking like the sharpest shot ever, but sometimes that works well in a portrait.

If you wanted to *make* it sharper, a few questions:

What sort of lens do you have there?

And, are these scans of the negatives, or of prints?

The first thing I'd do is be sure the negatives themselves aren't sharper than your final results: the issue may be downstream of the camera. Sometimes machine-printers go out of focus a little, and it can look like that, even if the negs are very sharp.

In low light, issues may be steadiness, either of your hands or related to subject motion, lenses not being at their sharpest with a wide-open aperture, or a combination of factors.

Still a really good start.