Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2010, 12:57 AM   #1

Rookie question about exposure settings

Hi people, i am new to the analog scene and has some stupid questions...
When i take photos indoor i usually find the pictures a bit dull or dark, under exposed.
My gear is an Pentax ME Super and i usually shoot with a Pentax-M 28mm F2 or Pentax-M 50 F1.4 attached to it. Film is ASA 400 and the ASA dial is set to 400. The apurture is set low, around 1.4 on the 50 and low on the 28mm.
The shutter speed meeter shows green light...

There is no blur. They are just underexposed a bit.
Should i set the exposure compensation dial to 2x or use a flash instead?
What are your recommendations?

The outdoor pictures looks great and it is just me doing something wrong i believe.

Thankfull for any help.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Thomas

10-22-2010, 02:22 AM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Thomas. Posting scanned examples would help us direct advice more appropriately.

I can guess that your indoor subjects are dark whilst the camera may be metering something bright in the frame. Could this be possible? If so, a flash to balance the light indoors (or simply exposing only for your subject) would help correct your exposure issue.
10-22-2010, 04:09 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks, i do not really know if i can do spot metering with the camera i have. Probably not? Will try to find out. otherwise i will give the flash a go.
I love the lenses and the viewfinder of this old camera. But the flash i am not sure about....
I guess i will learn =)

Cheers,
Thomas
10-22-2010, 04:09 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
This may be a scanning/printing issue, I'm assuming these are minilab developed/scanned/printed?

10-22-2010, 06:36 AM   #5

Original Poster