Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2011, 07:47 PM   #1
Inactive Account

need lens advice

Let me start by saying I know very little to nothing about SLRs.

I've been playing with my P3 for a few months now and take some so-so photos. I'm usually just snapping friends and family. Teaching myself wasn't working out too great so I enrolled in a b&w film class at my college this semester.

I currently have a Pentax-A 50mm F2 lense, but I'm looking for a some-what inexpensive lens that will allow me more depth. I want to be able to take photos of landscape and architecture. Any suggestions?

01-15-2011, 08:08 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The 50mm is under-appreciated for landscape work - the fashion is to go wide angle. Your pocketbook and eye will tell you how wide - 35mm or 28mm are easy to handle and still cheap. Or try a manual focus zoom that goes to at least 28mm at the wide end. For depth of focus you'll want to stop the lens down some, which makes the differences between lenses far less than if you shot wide open.

The Pentaxes of course, and some of the better third party suppliers are good bets - Vivitar is usually dependably good, sometimes better than good. Tamron adaptalls as well, though unless you already have the adapter, getting an adapter can be a hurdle.

ps. if you have a Pentax digital + kit lens, mount the kit on your film cam, and zoom with it. See what focal length does it for you - or even use the kit lens - you can get pretty wide indeed before it starts to vignette. And it is fun!
01-15-2011, 08:10 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Brightside Quote
Let me start by saying I know very little to nothing about SLRs.

I've been playing with my P3 for a few months now and take some so-so photos. I'm usually just snapping friends and family. Teaching myself wasn't working out too great so I enrolled in a b&w film class at my college this semester.