Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-16-2011, 08:03 PM   #1

New film user

Hi guys
It so happened that I've been away from film cameras for a few years, but recently I scored an MZ-7 and 3 lenses(28-80, 70-210 and 70-300) and decided to give it a go. Just wondering if there are any MZ-7 users here who would share any advice about camera and what film to use( I purchased some ISO 400 EasyPic at Shoppers - says made in Japan)
Thanks

01-16-2011, 08:58 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't know much about the MZ-7, but I have lots of experience with the EasyPic film from Shoppers. I used to like to shoot it as it served the purpose, but I now lay out a little bit more for the Fujicolor Superia X-TRA and was much happier. The colours were much more vivid and everything seemed to "pop" just a little bit more.

As for development, I don't know what you're planning to do, but I've been very happy with Shoppers for developing my colour film. I don't have one with a digital centre by me, but they send my film out and by 4-7 days I get my prints back with a CD of my photos. Hey it's not 1/2 hour like the good old days, but hey, it's around the corner from my house. As for B&W, I haven't found a good sol'n yet. I dropped a roll off at shoppers once, but they're expensive and I didn't get a CD back (although I may have lost it). Currently I take it to Bell Arte in Hamilton, and one of there guys takes it home and develops it, also expensive and I get no CD back, but I do get to feel good that I'm putting money back into the local shop and I get to be a regular somewhere (and I suppose that's something). Anyway there's options out there.

Happy Shooting

Elliot
01-16-2011, 09:45 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks Elliot
I'm in Hamilton too. I found a Fortino's near me has an hour service for 6.99
So I hope they'll do a good job. The only reason I went with easypic - it's on sale.