Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-13-2011, 01:47 PM   #1
Forum Member

My LX & M50-1.4 vs Leica?

The only rangefinder I've ever tried is the Olympus XA. It made nice pix, but no better than my LX & M lens does. So what is the big deal about Leicas? $5000 for a body plus $2000 for a 50MM 1.4 lens? You can get a good LX & 50MM 1.4 lens for around $400. So are the photos that much better or is it just the prestige value, like wearing a Rolex watch instead of a Seiko? The Lieia isn't even that much smaller.

03-13-2011, 02:37 PM   #2
Zav
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I bet you have never seen the price of a Grand Seiko with a Spring Drive movement!
03-13-2011, 03:35 PM   #3
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Nando,

given the list of equipment in your signature, you seem perfectly positioned to give a meaningful opinion.

I'm very new to taking photographs and sometimes don't quite "get it" relating to the apparently inflated cost of some items of kit.

I must then fall back on the only experience I have of Leica equipment - when used for surveying and setting out - I've used Leica tools costing many thousands of UK pounds for 'levelling' and also theodolites / total stations for relating polar / rectangular co-ordinates with built-in distance measuring.

So, is Leica photographic kit really that good, that well engineered and manufactured?

I suspect the answer will be 'yes'

Please give us your opinion Nando. It would paint a good picture for those uneducated (well it would for me anyway!)

Gary
03-13-2011, 04:13 PM   #4