Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2012, 07:28 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Kodak Discontinues slide films :(

I just noticed this news Kodak discontinues three slide films: E100VS, E100G and Elite Chrome Extra Color 100 | Photo Rumors

I'm a film newbie, never shot any slide film before although I've been meaning to give it a go, so when I read this news I ordered 3 rolls of the E100G film from ebay to try it out before it's gone. It's sad that more and more films seem to be disappearing....

Last edited by twitch; 03-01-2012 at 09:12 PM.
03-01-2012, 09:04 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Yep very sad, see the "Kodak Interview .." thread.

Phil
03-01-2012, 09:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by twitch Quote
I just noticed this news Kodak discontinues three slide films: E100VS, E100G and Elite Chrome Extra Color 100 | Photo Rumors

I'm a film newbie, never shot any slide film before although I've been meaning to give it a go, so when I read this news I ordered 3 rolls of the E100G film from ebay to try it out before it's gone. It's sad that more and more films seem to be disappearing....
Not a surprise. Hopefully Fuji will stay in production for a while. Those of you who haven't tried slide film should- it's a different experience. On the other hand, for pure quality at the 35mm level, I prefer digital. I shoot lots of film- black and white and some colour neg for special purposes- but dropped slides several years ago. (I have a back catalogue of about 30,000 slides, so I have enough potential slide scanning to keep me out of trouble for a while.)

Certainly, this represents a major shift in photography and gives me a bit of a twinge. I used to love shooting and viewing slides. Didn't love printing Cibachrome but got good results. Ain't the end of the world in terms of photograhic quality, though.

John
03-02-2012, 05:08 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery