Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-18-2012, 01:31 PM   #1

Very very weird Pentax ME Super light meter readings, please help!

I've recently started using my dad's old Pentax Me Super which has been in storage and unused for the last 20 years, I've finished a roll and I'm getting it developed tomorrow but I've noticed extremely weird light meter readings. I went with what the camera suggested but I think I shouldn't have and I'm thinking probably more than half the roll won't turn out.

Just to give an example, it was a very sunny day and I had 100 iso film and it was giving me shutter speeds of 2000 and 1000 at 16 and 22 apertures. Sometimes it wouldn't even let me use appertures lower to 22 or 16 on shaded areas because the over exposed on the light meter would blink and even at those times it kept giving me shutter speeds of 500 and 1000 in the shade with a appertures 22 or 16!

I'm still new to photography but surely that is not right? Shouldn't it be about 125 speed with 100 iso film and 16 apperture in sunny conditions?

I'm really upset and sad as I was really excited about the camera and I think it is not working properly. What should I do? I really want to use this camera but I know I would get charged ALOT of money for repair and I don't want to pay a lot for something that you guys might now an easy fix for?

Thanks in advance!

03-18-2012, 01:44 PM   #2
jac
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Are the batteries new?
03-18-2012, 01:48 PM   #3

Original Poster
They are the batteries that were inside the camera, I'm guessing for the last 20 years. I know that reading that most of you think I'm an idiot but the LED's always glow continuously and never flicker, and I was told that if the LEDs glow continuously then it doesn't matter because it means the batteries are good!
03-18-2012, 02:01 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums