Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2012, 01:16 PM   #1

Help with broken rewind crank on K1000 [urgent]

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello, I'm new here, as you can see.
I'm a photography student and recently just started using a 35mm camera.

The only setback is that the camera I received has a broken wind crank. It does still pull up to open the cover, but the crank part is broken clean off. I finished a roll of film while shooting, released the film, but I clearly can't rewind it. It's also the weekend, so i have no access to the darkroom at school to process it. I still want to shoot more photos during the weekend.

Is there anyway I can rewind the film back in the canister?

Photo of my sad, broken crank

04-13-2012, 01:39 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by RotisserieChicken Quote

The only setback is that the camera I received has a broken wind crank. It does still pull up to open the cover, but the crank part is broken clean off. I finished a roll of film while shooting, released the film, but I clearly can't rewind it. It's also the weekend, so i have no access to the darkroom at school to process it. I still want to shoot more photos during the weekend.

You could try and manufacture your own crank or use some pliers to turn the crank.
(Clockwise direction when the camera is in the shooting position.)

Phil.
Attached Images

04-13-2012, 03:55 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery