Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-28-2012, 03:11 AM   #1

Pentax Kx vs Lx or both ?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to the Pentax family.
Recently I bought a K1000 for actually learning basic film photography and the advanced camera model Kx. Furthermore I also inherited two Rollei 35 S and T (the T-model being faulty with lower shutter speeds) from my father when he past away. I already have little experience with film but want to grow in this particular area and my friends and I we love to shoot with film rather than digital.

Now since I already have two bodies and an assortment of lenses for the K-bodies (Pentax SMC M 1:2 50mm, Exakta MC Macro 70-210mm 1:4.5 - 5.6 Ø 52mm, SMC Pentax 50 mm 1:1,4 and Tamron 1:3,8-4,5 80-250 mm) I am wondering if
  1. I should opt for another Kx body for replacement parts once the Kx dies or whatsoever (which hopefully will not happen). For I heard that the metering system of the Kx's get flimsy with time and the parts getting sparse or
  2. should I opt for a used Lx? For then I will cover the whole range of cameras from beginner to pro!
  3. or should I buy both ??? I even may get a good deal of a relative and a friend who might sell me the Kx or Lx, respetively.
But I surely know too, that once I master the basics of photography I will end up using the Kx or Lx anyway (if I plan to buy a Lx in the future) and use the base model K1000 just for fun or give it to a friend perhaps.

Any help and suggestions are greatly helpful
Thank you and greetings David

08-28-2012, 04:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
First of all, welcome to the forum, and it is nice that your first post is in the film SLR section