Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2013, 12:55 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
LX purchase opinion please

I'm a noob when it comes to K-mount cameras. I currently own a number of Spotmatic bodies and a dozen M42 Takumar prime lenses and luv'em. That said, I have always lusted for a LX. (Who hasn't?)

There is a 3200 ISO LX with SMC 50 1.7, locally to me (well actually a few hundred kms away,) for $500 (CDN). (If I drive out to inspect it, I'm looking at another $50 in fuel.) I inquired about the camera and whether it had been CLA'd and here is his response.

"I haven’t used the camera in 10 years but it was working perfectly at that time. I still take it out occasionally and run through the shutters. It’s never been cleaned or serviced as it’s never been needed. It has a cosmetic scratch on the outside of the finder which doesn’t affect anything and could easily be replaced as it’s removable. The only other thing is the leather trim pulled away from the body just in one spot so I put glued it back on."

What do you guys think? Seem like a reasonable deal>

If I decide to pursue, outside of visually checking for deteriorating foam, and corroded battery enclosure, is there anything else I should look for in an inspection? Any easy way I can tell if there are electronic issues?

Thanks,

01-13-2013, 01:09 AM   #2
Closed Account

That is a rather steep price for, yes, a great camera. Such a camera should be serviced by now, and it sounds like that was never done. Better to do that sooner than later, as who knows how long there will be people around who can service the LX. So, figure that into the deal as well. Then, the scratch on the prism: indeed it won't affect working with this camera, but it will affect what you will get for it, should you ever want to sell it.