Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-10-2013, 03:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Super Program - viable and tough alternative?

Hey all,

So I'm a documentary photographer who shoots film. I am involved with weddings but have my own personal street photography style project going. While my main camera kit consists of Nikon 35mm cameras and a Pentax 645, I have been using my DA*55 F1.4 with a borrowed PZ1p and I absolutely love the results! That being said, I am considering complimenting my Nikon setup with a Pentax 35mm camera.

The downfall of the PZ1p, to me, is the extreme volume of the motor wind, the 2CR5 batteries (difficult to get where I am at.... especially in a pinch!) and having to manual focus to the green confirmation dot... which is difficult to accurately and quickly focus with and sometimes is a bit erratic.

All that being said, I'm thinking of picking up a Pentax Super Program now. It works with the DA*55 F1.4 (Tv or Program...I'll be using Tv) and I like how it resembles the Pentax 645 that I also use quite frequently. Not to mention that massive massive view finder.

Is the Pentax Super Program the kind of camera that should last me reliably atleast a few wedding seasons or can be easily repaired? I understand these are old cameras (30 something years old or so) so I plan to get one in the best of condition.

06-10-2013, 03:25 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
One of the nice things about cameras of that age is they are almost entirely mechanical and can thus be rebuilt/repaired almost indefinitely. If you do get one consider getting it CLA'd before using it (unless that has been done). They will clean and adjust everything and usually replace light seals and mirror bumpers and so on, things that tend to deteriorate over time. After CLA no reason it should not last 20 years if cared for.
06-10-2013, 05:18 PM   #3