Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-12-2013, 05:57 AM   #1
Veteran Member

DIY developing creativity

I am pretty new to film, started this year. My focus is family pics, mostly documentary / life pics.

I have successfully done 3 b&w rolls and 5 c41.... Pretty happy with the results so far.

In my learning, I have some stuff I want to try / have tried:

1. Over exposing and then developing normal time: tried this on tri-x and loved it. Shot at 200 and developed at 400. I think some shots were a bit too much so will probably settle on 300 when I want this look, at least on tri-x. Next up is portra 400 for this method.

2. Under exposing and then developing longer (a normal push): haven't done this yet on portra or trix but I accidentally shot some ektar @400. loved the look for beach shots but people i can do without. i do love the pushed film look. Will try it in b&w and portra 400 soon.

3. Normal pull: don't think I would try this as I like option 1 so much

4. Under exposing and developing normally: seems like my under exposed shots that were in a normally developed roll all look bad so I think I will stay away from this.

Any other ideas I should try? I am most excited to push the portra stuff but am I missing anything else from a developing / exposure standpoint?

I am super happy with film so far..... These forums have been very helpful. I will post up some pics eventually but most are my kids and I don't want them all over the Internet

07-12-2013, 07:24 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums