Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2013, 07:18 AM   #1

Pentax Spotmatic Mirror Problem

Hi there!
I am relatively new to film photography, and i'm having a problem with my Pentax Spotmatic.
I purchased one from my local camera store at the beginning of the semester for my intro to film photography class, and about halfway through the mechanism that moves my mirror became jammed. The camera store told me it would be as much to fix it as to just buy a new one, and also gave me a heavily discounted price on a new one because I had already purchased one from them.

Now the second one is having a similar problem but slightly worse. Before when the mirror would jam I could stilll advance my film and take pictures I just couldnt see what I was shooting. The new Camera (which is just a newer version of the first one I purchased) The mirror jams, and the film wont advance and I have to wait about 30-60 seconds, press the shutter release and then the mirror would un-jam. I'm also suspicious that the shutter is staying open the whole time the mirror is up. On top of all this through trial and error I realized that everything ony jams up when the light meter is on. If I turn my light meter on, adjust my exposure, turn the light meter off and take the picture the camera works perfectly fine.

I do not have the money to repair it, and i'm pretty good at fixing things (with a little help from tutorials and the internet). I have about 10 rolls of film left to shoot for the class, and I would rather not have to turn my light meter on/off for each one of the 360 photos I have to take.

If anyone has any idea why my camera is doing this or how to fix it your help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
Isabella

11-07-2013, 09:49 AM   #2