Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-04-2014, 06:12 AM   #1

Dead Super A

Hello all,

I have a Super A that I've been using for around 6 months with the same batteries.
I was using it yesterday without a problem and then today when I went to take a photo, the battery was dead.
I got home I gave the cells a lick and it registered that there was a power supply for all of 5 seconds.
I proceeded to swap the SR44s for some LR44s I have in a P30t. To my dismay, the Super A didn't respond.
I then tested the SR44s in the P30t which confirmed that they had power.

Since working yesterday, the Super A hasn't received any knocks of been dropped.
Could one of you kind souls please enlighten me as to what could be at fault?

Thank you in advance,
Jay

05-05-2014, 09:38 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
The Super A/Super Program is one of my favorite cameras and are usually quite reliable, but when they fail they tend to just suddenly crap out like that due to their electronic nature.
Try working the mode dial back and forth a bit and see if anything happens or it works in any mode other than auto. Those cameras are notorious for contacts corroding up though usually its the shutter button or the light button and not the main power circuit that acts up. You could check for any hard to see oxidization of the battery compartment as well.
If nothing else you may have to send it to Harrow Technical to have it sorted out. By this age they usually need to go in for a CLA anyways.
05-10-2014, 03:41 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by PPPPPP42 Quote
The Super A/Super Program is one of my favorite cameras and are usually quite reliable, but when they fail they tend to just suddenly crap out like that due to their electronic nature.