Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-20-2015, 01:27 PM   #1

Does my ME Super need a service?

I acquired a ME super and for the heck of it decided to shoot some film through it.

Most of the results turned out nice, but there there are some which looks a bit suss. Being a film newbie I have no idea what problems I am looking at. I imagine maybe light seals + shutter?

Top left some flare like thing:

Band of uneven exposure (slightly brighter than rest of frame) on RHS:

and again...

Band of darkness on top right, pretty certain this was shot at 1/2000:

Flare or light leak on top right?

and again:

But in general I really like the results:

The rest of the album can be found here:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/58023469@N04/sets/72157649979423799/

01-20-2015, 01:36 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

It does look like a little bit of light leak and maybe some shutter issues with the timing.
A CLA is always nice to have on these cameras if you can spare the money.
01-20-2015, 01:38 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Odd. Check the seals around the back first. Also which lenses did you use?
01-20-2015, 01:49 PM   #4

Original Poster
The interesting thing is that the other pictures in the album look to me to be completely fine.

The ones taken at night is the tokina 20-35mm. The other shots are a combination of the pentax smc k 55mm 1.8 and tamron 35-80 sp.

Not sure how much a cla will be. I imagine the light seals will be a lot cheaper to do first. I can live with it if the shutter only has problems at high and low speeds.

01-20-2015, 01:59 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Maybe you can the light seals on the exterior body by placing black electrical tape over all of the seams and hinges to block out light. Take some pictures and check. The internal seals are harder to imagine testing easily.
01-20-2015, 02:10 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter