Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-11-2015, 07:49 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
LX Grip attachment method

I've just bought an LX -- it should arrive later this week. Many years ago, I briefly owned an LX -- I was a camera dealer and it was inventory. Unfortunately I didn't have it very long. But it had the grip and I recall finding it somewhat ergonomic. I wouldn't mind having a grip for this LX I'll be getting, but there is no stinking way I'm gonna pay the prices I see on eBay for a small hunk of hardwood that's worth maybe $3, tops. The only reason I can think of that it is priced as high as it is is there must be some sort of proprietary method of securing it to the camera. Probably using those LX strap lugs, yes? I carve wood for a living and I'm reasonably sure that I can come up with a nice, hardwood grip that will blow that embryonic blob that Pentax offers for the LX into the weeds.

Anyway, I'm hoping that somebody here who has a grip might be willing to photograph the back of it, where it attaches to the camera, so I can see how it attaches. Then I might be able to duplicate the attachment method. And if I can't, I might be able to come up with an alternative. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Far as that goes, if you have alternative ideas for grips, let me know what you've come up with. I'd be interested in seeing them and/or reading about them.

05-11-2015, 08:25 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Just do a Google image search for "LX Grip" and you'll get all the photos you need.

The grips come in two flavours A and B. they both attach in the same way. At the top is a slot which slips over the top lug on the left side of the LX camera (when looking at it from the front). At the bottom of the grip is a spring loaded screw which screws into a matching hole at the bottom of the left side of an LX.

Neither of the grips are wooden.