Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-22-2015, 09:47 PM   #1

Hey guys, having trouble with my Pentax Me Super (might be broken?)

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi guys, I'm taking a Photo I class at the moment, so I'm really new to film cameras having been more of a digital photography type of person. I really don't know much of the terminology and the names of each function so I'll try my best to explain my situation.

Basically I finished my roll and i was trying to roll it back into the canister so that I could take it out and load another roll. I guess I spun it in the wrong direction and then it came completely off. Then as i was trying to screw it back on the little knob in the center got pushed in so... Also my film is 400 ISO and it's stuck on 800 no matter how much i spin it. I need immediate help.

Thanks a bunch.

06-22-2015, 11:16 PM   #2

Ah the charms of 35m roll film... Your camera may be broken but it's worth trying to save your earlier captures.

Assuming you have not opened the camera yet in daylight. I'd try to retrieve the film using a darkroom changing bag somewhat like the one on this website

You may also need to respool the film onto a reel and put it in a tank within the changing bag first. You are working blind and only have touch and a cool assertive approach to assist at this point. Try doing it first with a an old film before doing it all in a bag. Or just get a friendly assistant at a photo lab to do it for you. :-)

Once that's done you might get a local photo shop to check out the the ME Super's winder and stuck ISO setting.