Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-18-2008, 03:55 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Super Program problem with film advance and shutter release

I am very new to photography and just bought my son who is also a newbie a Super Program off of Ebay. We had to get batteries for it and at first the shutter release and film advance lever were working fine. After about 5 or six practices with the release and advance lever the release would not work anymore and the advance lever will now only go about 1/4 of the way. Thus the film when loaded will not advance. I did find others on this list and on the web with the same problem and I didn't see a real solution. I think we may be out of luck and the body is not ever going to work. It is disappointing however It did come with a good lens and filter that we can still use. We would just need another KA mount body. Any ideas?

07-18-2008, 04:13 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Have you opened the film door? There might be a film inside that keeps it from advancing?
07-18-2008, 04:16 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thank you for your response. Yes we have opened the film door and tried to load film ourselves into the camera. We have read the manuel and I am relatively sure I have followed directions. But I still may be doing something silly. Ü
07-18-2008, 04:25 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Do the lcd screens show any numbers in the view finder? Only asking to rule out dead batteries.

07-18-2008, 04:40 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Here is a link to a repair manual.

Pentax Manuals

Not sure how much this would help.

Might just be easier to buy another body.

If you ask what body to buy, you will get at least 10 opinions. In my opinion here are some ideas, and the price I would pay on e-bay.

ME $45-65
ME Super $55-75
K1000 $35-65
KX $75-125
KM $65-85
MX $85-125
Super Program/Super A $65-100

Now for the other opinions...

07-18-2008, 06:47 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter