Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2017, 02:34 PM - 1 Like   #1

Pentax MZ-S is it worth getting?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm looking for a good 35mm film camera, and always wanted the MZ-S camera back when it released, too expensive for me back then, and had to settle with a Mz-5, loved the camera and use it a lot, specially in panoramic mode, since I was a film student back then.

So I want to know if it's worth getting one now? They're pretty cheap and I have a few old lenses, the only one good is a Tamron 14mm that was about $1,200 CDN back then.
Is the battery still being made and easy to find? Which battery uses? And which are the best lenses I can use with it?

This were all taken with the MZ-5 and positive film.
Travel and Landscape | Flickr
WRC 2005 | Flickr

Thanks in advanced for any info.

Last edited by Pablo Villegas; 01-07-2017 at 02:41 PM.
01-07-2017, 02:45 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's certainly not a bad camera. It takes 2 x CR2 batteries which are easy to find.

I prefer the PZ-1P, as it's compatible with lenses that don't have aperture rings, is easier to configure, reaches a higher max shutter speed and flash sync speed, but lacks the cool exposure imprinting features and weight-reduction of the MZ-S. They're truly cameras from different eras.
01-07-2017, 02:50 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by lithedreamer Quote
It's certainly not a bad camera. It takes 2 x CR2 batteries which are easy to find.