Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2017, 04:00 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Prices for the MX

Hey friends, first time poster here, looking for advice.

I'm trying to buy myself a Pentax 35mm as a back to school present and I'm curious about pricing. I've had my eye on an MX with the f1.7 lens as the model to get, preferably one that's been serviced.

Found some in Japan for $250CAD, however the seller could not confirm the last date of service. The one listing from Australia stated that the camera had been serviced by Eric and was totally good to go, but this one costs almost $400CAD with shipping, which seems a bit excessive to me, but perhaps a totally serviced camera is worth it? I'm not experienced enough to say.

I also have access to some of my uncle's old Pentax bodies, such as a KM and a few K1000, but they have been sitting around for awhile and would probably need to be patched up. I was also looking at the LX but those ain't cheap either, and cost more to maintain.

Any advice?

09-04-2017, 04:52 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Get the KM CLA'ed by Eric - about $60 - and a M50/1.7 - $40-$50 - and you're in for less than a serviced MX alone.
09-04-2017, 05:06 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by monochrome Quote
Get the KM CLA'ed by Eric - about $60 - and a M50/1.7 - $40-$50 - and you're in for less than a serviced MX alone.
This seems like the way to go. Only reason I was gunning for the MX is because I hear the light meter is really good. I imagine the light meter in the KM will do the job, though.
09-04-2017, 05:25 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Jellygeist Quote
This seems like the way to go. Only reason I was gunning for the MX is because I hear the light meter is really good. I imagine the light meter in the KM will do the job, though.