Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
06-03-2018, 06:15 AM   #1

Can someone diagnose these light leaks in my Pentax ME?

Hey guys!

I just started shooting film and built my own darkroom and I love it so far. However, I've been getting light leaks on my Pentax ME that have gotten more and more severe with each successive roll. I'm on roll four and I've attached the 3rd roll.

Any ideas?

Trevor

Attached Images

06-03-2018, 06:55 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How well preserved are your foam seals?
06-03-2018, 06:59 AM   #3

Original Poster
Not sure, I'll take a look after my current roll. I inherited the camera from my father, so I'm guessing there's some age to the camera although it's in pretty great shape aesthetically!

---------- Post added 06-03-18 at 07:02 AM ----------

On the 4th row, but on most of them by the number on the bottom of the frame, there's a pretty distinct round corner. Does this signify where along the camera it is?
06-03-2018, 07:02 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
The fact that the light is leaking on the film sprockets means the leak is in back. The fact that the light is leaking on bottom of the image means the leak is at the top of the backside. The spacing of the leak and fact that it leaked through the sprocket holes on to the film tighter in the roll means the leak must be on the upper part of the back just above the take-up spool.

06-03-2018, 07:14 AM   #5

Just replace them all. Sooner more than later the remaining seals will go bad. And the new ones won't be as compressed as the old ones so the old may not seal as well. The light seal kits should give you material to replace all the seals.

Most common failures are mirror bumper, seal by hinge, bottom seal.
06-03-2018, 08:04 AM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery