Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
11-04-2018, 01:23 AM   #1

Newbie to the SLR world

Hey!
I’m new to the world of film cameras and was looking for any tips you guys might have

I’m looking at getting a Spotmatic and was wondering what the difference between the models are (ie. SP, SP II & SV etc).

With buying pre-loved SLR cameras what should I be looking out for? I’ve heard the foam often needs to be replaced - what exactly is the foam and how can you tell when it needs replacing?
Are there any tests I can do to check everything is functional & accurate?

Thank you!

11-04-2018, 02:22 AM   #2
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi from Melbourne Eikoor, and welcome to the forums. Lots of " filmers " here, but most live the top half of the world, so answers to your question might come when they wake up !!
11-04-2018, 02:59 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

To be honest, unless you have a particular reason for wanting the spotmatic, for functional purposes I'd be more inclined to get something like a K1000 which should be younger and cheaper and more functional. The spotmatic is an iconic camera and can command a premium price as well as being an early and therefore less efficient incorporator of metering. A lovely thing but not necessarily the best tool.
11-04-2018, 03:13 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good Morning, I just got up to get a drink of water, and decided to surf the web for a bit before going back to bed. Here is a link to the forum's camera reviews - the M43 screw mount film cameras, which includes the SP, SP II & SV etc. You will have to click on the links and read the reviews which themselves have a lot of information.I have my trusty old Spotmatic II sitting on the shelf over in the corner. Wonderful camera, but really they are all wonderful camera bodies.
QuoteQuote: