Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 14 Likes Search this Thread
04-18-2019, 05:34 AM   #1

Blue haze on landscape shots - help?

Hi all,

Complete newbie to the world of photography. Recently bought my first camera (Spotmatic F) and started shooting. I noticed that on quite a few of my photos (see below for examples), that there is a haze on distant landscapes. I've shot these shots on a SMC Takumar 55mm f1.8 lens, with lens hood and skylight filter attached.

I was under the impression the skylight filter would reduce this effect. Is there something else I can do to reduce it further, or do I just need to replace the filter with a different one? Alternatively, is there something I'm doing or not doing with my photos themselves that has them coming out like this?

Thanks!

Attached Images

04-18-2019, 05:48 AM   #2
Unregistered User

First thought is, what's causing the haze? I.e., what is it in the atmosphere that is reflecting the light that way? Dust from nearby construction? Drizzle? A filter will help with some things but not all.

A skylight filter is something we used to use with film (and no processing in the camera) in order to change the color of the image slightly. Probably not a good idea with a digital camera (which can do the same thing with "scene selection" and white balance adjustments). I'd suggest getting a good quality UV filter, which is what I mainly use to cut the haze, because what it does is actually screen and eliminate part of the color spectrum at and beyond the blue end. Alternatively a circular polarizing filter would be useful because you can rotate the effect until the light coming in the camera is out of phase with the reflected light off the humidity in the atmosphere. A CP filter will cut down on light transmission a good bit more than a UV filter which you can get that will transmit 98% of the light or more. A CP filter can thus take the place of a neutral density filter as well.