Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-12-2020, 06:19 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
ZX-50 with mirror-block issue - worth fixing?

I have a Pentax ZX-50 body which I haven't used in ages since going all digital. I recently pulled it out to test, as I was thinking of selling it. I put in fresh batteries and when I turned it on, it made this interesting whirring sound and the mirror does not move. I did a bit of research and believe this has the mirror motor gear issue that appears to be common with this series.

It also has the broken flip-up flash issue...

I am very handy electrically and mechanically (Electrical Engineering by profession and electronics hobbyest at home) and am not afraid to fix things myself. So do you think this is worth fixing relative to what I could sell it for?

I don't ever anticipate getting back into film, but if I do, I still have a K1000 body and a P3n body.

As another point of discussion, I found a full teardown photo of the ZX-30 and it appears to have the Japanese-sourced shutter solenoid, that could be used to fix my K-70, should it ever develop the shutter solenoid issue. Therefore, the other option is to just harvest the ZX-50 for parts.

Discussion welcome!
Chris

08-12-2020, 07:28 AM   #2

It is basically worthless in it's current condition, so tearing it down in an attempt to repair would not be a loss. The worst case is you could salvage the solenoid and scrap the rest. Best case you fix it.

Jim
08-12-2020, 08:13 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jimfellows Quote
It is basically worthless in it's current condition, so tearing it down in an attempt to repair would not be a loss. The worst case is you could salvage the solenoid and scrap the rest. Best case you fix it.

Jim
Except for the cost of the replacement motor/gear. I see you are also from NH. I just updated my profile to list my location.